Dukes of Awesome


The Last Plane out of Hattiesburg by errantremark

EXT. HATTIESBURG AIRFIELD – NIGHT

A black Ford pickup truck with four doors, a lift kit, brush guard and giant tires wheels in front of a hangar. It is sparkling clean. PETER KING, REX RYAN, BRAD CHILDRESS and BRETT FAVRE emerge. MIKE FLORIO is standing at attention by a hangar door.

casablancapeterking

PETER: Rexy, have your men go with Mr. Childress and take care of his luggage.

REX: Certainly, Mr. King. [to FLORIO]Find Mr. Childress’ luggage and put it on the plane.

FLORIO: Yessir! [Exeunt]

PETER: [Hands REX official NFL release papers] If you don’t mind, you fill in the names, that’ll make it even more official.

REX: You think of everything, don’t you.

PETER: And the names are Mr. & Mr. Brett Favre.

BRETT: But, why my name, Peter?

PETER: Because you’re getting on that plane.

BRETT: But I don’t understand, what about. Hey, wait, did you say Mr. and Mr.?

PETER: Yes, but it’s not me – it’s Brad. I’m staying here with him until the plane gets safely away.

BRETT: No, Peter, no. I don’t know what’s happened to you but last night we said I wasn’t ga…

favre-crying

PETER: Last night we said a great many things. You said I was to do the thinking for both of us. Well, I’ve done a lot of it since then, and it all adds up to one thing: you’re getting on that plane with Brad where you belong.

BRETT: No, Peter, no…

PETER: Now, you’ve got to listen to me! You have any idea what you’d have to look forward to if you stayed here? Nine chances out of ten, we’d both wind up naked in the mud together and contract swine flu. Isn’t that true, Louie?

REX: I’m afraid Commissioner Goodell would insist.

BRETT: You’re saying this only to make me go.

PETER: I’m saying it because it’s true. Inside of us, we both know you belong with Brad. You’re part of his work, the thing that keeps him going. If that plane leaves the ground and you’re not with him, you’ll regret it. Maybe not today. Maybe not tomorrow, but soon and for the rest of your life.

BRETT: But what about us?

PETER: We’ll always have Montclair. We didn’t have, we, we lost it until you came to Hattiesburg. We got it back last night.

BRETT: When I said I would never unretire…

PETER: And you never will. But I’ve got a job to do, too. Where I’m going, you can’t follow. What I’ve got to do, you can’t be any part of. Brett, I’m no good at being noble, but it doesn’t take much to see that the problems of three little people don’t amount to a hill of coffee beans in this crazy world. Someday you’ll understand that. Now, now… Here’s looking at you kid.

[BRETT and BRAD board the plane departing for Minneapolis.]

FLORIO: Well, Peter, it might be a good idea for you to get out of Hattiesburg for a while.

PETER: I could use a good trip.

FLORIO: I could arrange for you to go back up to Boston – fly into Washington, then take the Acela. Maybe you’d like to see about switching to Sprint, too.

PETER: And it doesn’t make a difference about our bet – you still owe me a cup of coffee.

FLORIO: And it won’t be any coffee flavored water!

PETER: Florio, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

casablanca

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

