Dukes of Awesome


Dick Jauron – The Long Road to Assimilation by pinkjerseyssuck
September 30, 2008, 8:46 am
Filed under: Bills Obsession, Buffalo Bills, NFL News | Tags: , ,

 

I have always had a hard time embracing Bills coaches ever since Marv left. Marv was our coach, the Bills’ Scotty Bowman (or more currently Lindy Ruff). He was the face of our team, and he carried the hopes of Bills fans everywhere on his shoulders, and more importantly, in his heart.

Marv was a franchise coach, similar to Ditka. So when he left, with no surprise, the Bills struggled with replacing him. The rotating door of coaches that came and left Buffalo taught me not to get attached to them, knowing they would be gone as soon as their contract was up (or sooner). Hell, Marv even helped build the team we have now. He is a football saint.

So maybe it was because he led the team to greatness, maybe it was his wonderful personality, or maybe it was because I was an 8 year old girl who wished he was my grandpa. Either way, Marv was it, and no one could ever come close to replacing him.

Until Dick Jauron.

I remember my first reaction when Dick Jauron was hired – “what a face. He doesn’t look like he belongs here, he won’t make it a year.” Then, slowly but surely, Jauron began to win me over. Sure, he’s made some mistakes, but look at where we are… 4-0 for the first time since we went to the “s-word” (I’m a little superstitious when it comes to championship games).

But I was still suspicious. Something about Jauron wasn’t clicking with me. Sure, I’d sing the Jauron song (to the tune of “Stacey’s Mom”) with everyone else, but what was holding me back? What was (am) I so afraid of?

Then last night I was listening to Thurman Thomas. The Thurmanator. And do you know what he said? “When you’re talking about Marv Levy and Dick Jauron, you’re pretty much talking about the same person.” Being a true Bills fan, I must take everything Thurman says as Gospel. That aside, what he said really got me thinking… thinking about why I haven’t embraced Jauron and why I feel like I’m just waiting for him to walk away (or get thrown out). Maybe I took Marv for granted. Maybe, subconsciously, it’s because Jauron doesn’t have that typical-Buffalo look. Maybe it’s because I’ve never seen him smile. Maybe I was just being a stubborn baby.

So today I made a decision. I’m going to embrace Jauron as our coach. Our somewhat-permanent, going-to-be-here-for-a-while coach. In all honesty, Jauron will never take the place of Marv, not til the day I die. But he can come in a close second if he smiles once in a while.

Go Bills.

-PinkJerseysSuck

(this post also located at http://bills.buffalo.com/node/714)

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Skeletor rules!

Comment by DaddyMike

I am sure that your tune regarding Dick Jauron has changed. I was of the same opinion. Give him a chance. Let him get his feet wet.

Too many poor decisions. How many replay calls can you get wrong. I blame Jauron for not having a solid system in place to handle the replay flag call. Video guy too slow?

Comment by notJauron

[…]  Boy was I wrong.  Well, I was only wrong about liking him. I wasn’t wrong about getting used to his presence […]

Pingback by They Say that Absence Makes the Heart Grow Fungus « Dukes of Awesome

[…] He went to Davidson, so it fits the profile of Bills coaches who are both book smart and lack personality. […]

Pingback by “Bob Sanders”? More Like “Bob …He sucks. « Dukes of Awesome




Leave a Reply

